

Iran Visa on Arrival (Iran VOA)

By issuing a 30-day electronic Iran visa on arrival for most nationalities (US, British, and Canadians are exempt from receiving this visa), more tourists are able to easily visit Iran. Since late 2018, the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) no longer affixes visas to passports nor stamps them on entry as a response to the US sanctions on persons who have visited Iran after 2011.

Which airports are issuing Iran visa on arrival?

At the moment, e-VOA facilities are available at 12 international airports inside of Iran. Visitors may collect their e-VOA from any of the following airports:

| AWZ: Ahwaz International Airport | KER: Kerman International Airport |
|---|------------------------------------|
| BND: Bandar Abbas International Airport | KIH: Kish International Airport |
| BUZ: Bushehr International Airport | MHD: Mashhad International Airport |
| GSM: Qeshm International Airport | OMH: Urmia International Airport |
| IKA: Tehran Imam Khomeini Airport | SYZ: Shiraz International Airport |
| ISF: Isfahan International Airport | TBZ: Tabriz International Airport |

All Iran visa related offices (Visa police office, travel insurance agencies, and bank branches) are open 24/7 at these international airports. So, there is no worry and you can collect your e-VOA whenever you arrive in Iran.

Iran Visa on Arrival Exceptions

Citizens of 10 countries MUST get their visa before arrival and they are NOT entitled to get an e-VOA. These countries are: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Colombia, Iraq, Jordan, Pakistan, Somalia, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Citizens of Afghanistan and Bangladesh who live in their own country have to apply directly for a visa via the MFA e-visa website and collect their visa from an Iranian Embassy/Consulate in their country.

Citizens of Colombia, Iraq, Jordan, Pakistan, and Somalia can apply online through authorized travel agencies like us to get their visa.

Finally, citizens of Canada, the UK and the USA are only permitted to enter Iran as part of an authorized and managed tour and receive their visas from authorized travel agencies, and they require more authorizations that make the process longer compared to other citizens.

Also, citizens of the following eight countries DON'T need a visa and can enter Iran freely and stay for a specified time:

Armenia: 90 days within 180 days Azerbaijan: 14 days Egypt: 20 days Georgia: 45 days Lebanon: 30 days Malaysia: 15 days Syria: 90 days Turkey: 90 days





Iran VOA Restrictions

The e-VOA is for tourism, pilgrimage, and entry purposes only. People with any other intentions, need to apply for the relevant visa before their arrival. According to the MFA, the e-VOA will be absolutely refused for the following persons:

- ✤ Journalists or reporters traveling for the purpose of work
- Holders of diplomatic or service passports
- Those whose applications for an Iranian visa were previously refused.

There are also stricter laws for citizens of Sri Lanka, Nepal, and African countries. They have to bring their visa approval in the form of the Visa Grant Notice or very strong documents to convince visa officers that they are here for tourism or pilgrimage purpose only.

Iran E-VOA Requirements

To get your Iran e-visa on arrival, you have to have a travel document (passport) valid for at least 6 months. You have to apply online for the visa before your departure and have received your visa grant notice or at least your visa submission notice. It is obligatory to have valid Iran travel insurance as well. Finally, you have to pay the Iran visa fees in cash, in Euros.

In summary, the Iran e-VOA requirements are:

- ✓ Iran visa grant notice
- ✓ Valid travel insurance
- ✓ Enough cash in Euros to pay the visa fee





Iran Visa on Arrival fees

The fee for this visa is a bit more expensive than other visa you'd pay at an Iran Embassy/Consulate. All e-VOAs are single entry and the maximum duration of stay is 30 days. The e-VOA fees for different nationalities are as follows:

| Algeria: €30 | Ghana: €75 | Poland: €75 |
|---------------------|-------------------|----------------------------|
| Angola: €85 | Greece: €75 | Portugal: €75 |
| Argentina: €70 | Hong Kong: €80 | Qatar: €75 |
| Armenia: FREE | Hungary: €75 | Romania: €75 |
| Australia: €145 | India: €90 | Russia: €70 |
| Austria: €75 | Indonesia: €45 | Saudi Arabia: €30 |
| Azerbaijan: FREE | Iraq: €50 | Senegal: €50 |
| Bahrain: €20 | Ireland: €75 | Serbia: €85 |
| Bangladesh: €40 | Island: €75 | Sri Lanka: €40 |
| Belgium: €75 | Italy: €75 | Singapore: €75 |
| Brazil: €80 | Ivory Coast: €60 | Slovenia: €75 |
| Bulgaria: €75 | Japan: €60 | Slovakia: €75 |
| Cameron: €60 | Kenya: €60 | South Africa: €80 |
| Chile: €120 | Kuwait: €60 | South Korea: €50 |
| China: €100 | Lebanon: FREE | Spain: €75 |
| Croatia: €50 | Lithuania: €75 | Sudan: €60 |
| Cyprus: €75 | Magnolia: €70 | Sweden: €75 |
| Czech Republic: €75 | Malaysia: FREE | Switzerland: €75 |
| Denmark: €75 | Mexico: €45 | Syria: Free |
| Dominican: €70 | Morocco: €30 | Tanzania: €60 |
| Egypt: Free | Morris: €60 | Thailand: €75 |
| Eritrea: €40 | Mozambique: €40 | Tunisia: €45 |
| Estonia: €75 | Netherlands: €75 | Turkey: Free |
| Ethiopia: €25 | New Zealand: €150 | Uganda: €100 |
| Finland: €75 | Nigeria: €55 | Ukraine: €80 |
| France: €75 | Norway: €75 | United Arab Emirates: €100 |
| Gabon: €75 | Oman: €75 | Uzbekistan: €70 |
| Georgia: FREE | Palestine: €45 | Venezuela: €45 |
| Germany: €75 | Philippines: €55 | Yemen: €40 |
| | | |

Iran VOA for Indian Passport Holders

In the second half of 2018 India was added to the Iran VOA list, so Indian citizens can fly to Iran and get their visa on arrival. It is very important for them to get their Iran visa authorization code before their arrival, have valid travel insurance and pay €90 for the e-VOA fee in cash at the banks situated in the Iranian international airports.

The Iran e-VOA for Indians allows them to stay up to 30 days in Iran for tourism, pilgrimage, or medical purposes.

Iran Visa on Arrival for UK, USA, and Canada Citizens

At present, the Iran visa on arrival is not available for citizens of these three countries. Iran has a very strict visa policy for these countries and they HAVE to get their visa before arriving in Iran and travel to Iran as part of an organized official tour. Even if they are traveling to Iran individually, they have to be accompanied by a licensed tour guide.

There is only one exception for passengers of these three countries and that is for those who have dual citizenship. They can use their other passport and travel to Iran freely regardless of their American, British or Canadian citizenship.

