metropolis 🔵

NEWS



Three new metropolises from Europe and Asia join our association

Tuesday 09/04/2019

Our Board of Directors, gathered in Montevideo on April 6, ratified the three new members of the association: Kazan, Goyang and Greater Paris. With these new members, Metropolis now brings together 138 governments of major cities and metropolitan areas worldwide.

Our new members in a nutshell:

- Kazan is the sixth largest city in Russia and the capital of the Republic of Tatarstan. With 1.24 million of population, Kazan is considered the third capital of the country and in the last years has became the capital of sports too, hosting several international sports events. Kazan, which is located in the banks of the Volga river, is one of the oldest cities in Russia, founded in 11th Century.
- Métropole du Grand Paris is an urban intercommunality grouping together the city of Paris, 123 communes of the three departments of Hauts-de-Seine, Seine-Saint-Denis and Val-de-Marne and 7 communes of Essonne and Val d'Oise. It was created on January 1st, 2016 and gathers more than 7.2 million of popoulation. Metropole du Gran Paris faces the challenge of the economic, social and cultural development of the most populated area in France.

 Goyang is located in the Gyeonggi Province in the north of South Korea, near the capital, Seoul. With more than 1 million of habitants, Goyang is the eight largest city in the country. There are 3 districts, Duckyang gu, Ilsan Dong (east) gu, and Ilsan Seo (west) and it also well-known by its stunning green areas and parks, which are perfectly integrated in the city.

From the Secretariat General we warmly welcome these three major metropolises, hoping for a new cycle of work with many opportunities for collaboration and dissemination of their good practices around the world.